National Register of Historic Places Nominations

Robert Russa Moton Boyhood Home

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Fast Facts

  • The more than 95,000 properties listed (as of 2019) in the National Register represent 1.8 million contributing resources - buildings, sites, districts, structures, and objects
  • Almost every county in the United States has at least one place listed in the National Register
  • Listing in the National Register is the first step towards eligibility for National Park Service-administered federal preservation tax credits that have leveraged more than $45 billion in private investment and National Park Service grant programs like Save America's Treasures and Preserve America.


About National Register Documentation:

The Documentation consists of:

National Register registration form, which provides a physical description of the place, information about its history and significance, and a bibliography.

Photographs - Use of photographs and forms is available under Fair Use, see our Content and Copyright page for more information Maps.

Many State Historic Preservation Offices (SHPOs) have digitized their files and put them on their websites. The depth of information available varies from state to state, but ranges from basic locational information to searchable databases with downloadable narrative descriptions and photos. Check their websites to see if they have the information you need. List of SHPOs with extended information.